more from
Auxiliary Records
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Alcoves EP


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $5 USD  or more


Avalanche 04:52
Jaded Eyes 06:10


On the ALCOVES EP, Fotocrime pays tribute to a handful of their favorite artists via cover songs that range from deconstructed and reimagined variations to faithful adaptations of the original arrangements and instrumentation.

The collection begins with a powerful, dread-soaked version of LEONARD COHEN’s classic “Avalanche” featuring Murder By Death’s Sarah Balliet on cello. Following “Avalanche”, Fotocrime turns DC post-hardcore anthem “Jaded Eyes” by GOVERNMENT ISSUE into a post-punk barn-burner backed by an Italo Disco beat. “Jaded Eyes” was recorded live to tape at the legendary Inner Ear Studios by Fotocrime's longtime collaborator J. Robbins, who also sings backing vocals on the track.

A meticulously faithful cover of PORTISHEAD’s “Chase The Tear” follows with Fotocrime joined by Janet Morgan, who lends her beautiful voice to the song and gives the entire affair a proper British sheen.

Possibly the most divergent from the original yet true to form for Fotocrime, the next track “The Price Of Silence” turns a DISCHARGE Cold War hardcore classic into a jangling post-punk anthem. The result is a blistering example of Fotocrime’s ability to inject punk energy into their danceable darkwave sound.

The Alcoves EP closes with Fotocrime singer/guitarist Ryan Patterson solo on a dark, noir-inspired cover of 50s rockabilly icon EDDIE COCHRAN’s little-known, “Dark Lonely Street”. Originally recorded four years before Cochran’s untimely death at age 21, “Dark Lonely Street” is a direct nod to a sound and era that is often referenced and injected into Fotocrime’s music. A fitting end for this collection of songs by musicians whose music has endlessly inspired and influenced Fotocrime.


released July 26, 2022

Ryan Michael Patterson - Vocals, guitars, synths, programming
Nick Thieneman - Guitars, vocals
Will Allard - Bass guitar, synths, drums on "Chase The Tear"

Sarah Balliet - Cello on "Avalanche"
J. Robbins - Backing vocals on "Jaded Eyes"
Janet Morgan - Vocals on "Chase The Tear

Produced, recorded, and mixed by Ryan Patterson
at House of Foto, Louisville, KY, May 2022

Except "Jaded Eyes" recorded and mixed by J. Robbins
at Inner Ear Studios, Washington, DC, July 2021
Assisted by Matt Redenbo

Mastered by Dan Coutant at Sun Room Audio

"Avalanche" originally by Leonard Cohen
"Jaded Eyes" originally by Government Issue
"Chase The Tear" originally by Portishead
"The Price Of Silence" originally by Discharge
"Dark Lonely Street" originally by Eddie Cochran


all rights reserved




Fotocrime is singer/guitarist and producer Ryan Patterson, guitarist Nick Thieneman, and bassist Will Allard. With danceable, battle hymn drum machines and layered synths, Fotocrime brings monochrome clarity to electronic-meets-organic post-punk with driving bass, chiming guitars, and Patterson's unmistakable baritone. Fotocrime seethes with Cold War paranoia, modern-day malaise and smoky noir. ... more

contact / help


Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

FOTOCRIME recommends:

If you like FOTOCRIME, you may also like: